Skip to content

False Memories

False Memories


False memories (I clearly recall being able to breathe under water as a child)  is a collection of songs about memories of events that have never actually occurred. All lyrics are drawn from anonymous public submissions to A.R. Hopwood’s False Memory Archive. The archive is based upon fascinating scientific research that demonstrates how susceptible we are to false memories, and is a unique collection of vivid personal accounts of things that never really happened. It shows how we creatively reconstruct our sense of the past, while providing insight into the often humorous, obscure and uncomfortable things people have misremembered.

The live show premiered at the November Music festival on November 12th 2016.

The False Memories album is available at Bandcamp if you’d like the digipak CD with the beautifully designed booklet with video stills and lyrics. Or contact Evelien if you’d like to order it. In this way you can support her. You can also find it on Spotify, iTunes and CD Baby. 

“It’s pretty obvious that “False Memories” can already be placed amongst the most unique and groundbreaking album releases of this year, (…) hardly comparable as well as genre defying, carving out a distinct niche of its own whilst leaving an essential mark on the electronic music circuit for a reason.” baze.djunkiii –

“It is completely unique what she delivers here. Astonishing avant-pop of an unprecedented quality. Although the music is not easy to interpret, you may think of a cross-pollination of Liesa van der Aa, Björk, AGF, Palinckx, Laurie Anderson, Hail and Micachu. A brilliant album, which justly gets you out of reality for an hour..” Jan Willem Broek – De Subjectivisten

“With ‘BREATHe’ the artist throws herself in the deep depth of experimental voice art. (…) Here she manages to give me the feeling of going up and down in flowing motions, sliding over a non existing slide in which her beautiful voice clearly shines as a wonderful wonder that defies gravity and lack of imagination. Beautiful and honest, picking us up with a arising flair and setting us back to the ground with a kind touch of a intriguing angel; it’s fair to say that I love BREATHe.” KN – Yeah I Know It Sucks

Album credits: composition, arrangements, production evelien van den broek | lyrics a.r. hopwood | vocals, electronics, programming evelien van den broek | trombone koen kaptijn | moog and OB-6 synths, clavinet, wurlitzer tony roe | drums & electronics at the live shows richard van kruysdijk | recorded at roe music productions and studio evelien van den broek | mix gijs van klooster at redhouse | mastering jarno volman at gold soundz mastering | video stills and interactive visuals marcel wierckx | cover design richard van kruysdijk | liner notes rené van peer

Live show credits: composition, voice & electronics evelien van den broek | lyrics a.r. hopwood | trombone & electronics koen Kaptijn | percussion & electronic beats richard van kruysdijk | synths tony roe | interactive video marcel wierckx | light design ate jan van kampen | sound engineer sandor caron | manager peter van amstel | production lysanne kok

Photo’s: Elke Teurlinckx, vwahumaine fotografie and Edo Paulus

The album is supported by the SENA Performers Music Production Fund and by Edith Eymann.

The live show is supported by the Performing Arts Fund NL and the Prins Bernhard Cultuurfonds with the Hausta Donans Fonds. A production of stichting MONO with support of November Music.

Thanks to Marion Tränkle, Wilco Botermans, Dyane Donck, Richard Ayres, Edith Eymann, Els & Aldert, Paul & Tanya van den Broek, Helen van den Broek (on live show artwork), Edo Paulus, Bert Palinckx, Edo, Jen, Sandor Caron en Gijs van Klooster.